Diversity and Inclusion Committee

For general information, suggestions, or questions: diversityinclusion@ucdavis.edu

Steering Committee

The chair of the committee appointed members of the full committee to a steering committee, which meets weekly in an effort to guide the full committee in accomplishing the activities that are essential to attain the project outcomes.

Adela de la Torre, Committee Chair, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and Campus Diversity, Distinguished Professor of Chicana/o Studies, vcstudentaffairs@ucdavis.edu

David Acosta, Associate Vice Chancellor for Office of Diversity and Community Engagement, dalacosta@ucdavis.edu

Linda Bisson, UC Davis ADVANCE Associate Director, Professor and Maynard A. Amerine Endowed Chair of Viticulture and Enology, lfbisson@ucdavis.edu

Suad Joseph, Faculty Adviser to the Chancellor, Distinguished Professor of Anthropology and Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies, sjoseph@ucdavis.edu

Sally McKee, 2014-2015 Chair, Academic Senate Affirmative Action Committee; Professor of History, sjmckee@ucdavis.edu

Brian Osserman, 2015-2016 Chair, Academic Senate Affirmative Action Committee; Associate Professor, Mathematics

Karen McDonald, Faculty Director and Co-Principal Investigator, ADVANCE, Professor of Chemical Engineering and Mechanical Science, kamcdonald@ucdavis.edu

Laura Van Winkle, 2014-2015 Chair, Academic Federation; Professor, School of Veterinary Medicine; Associate Research Cell Biologist, Center for Health and the Environment, John Muir Institute of the Environment, lsvanwinkle@ucdavis.edu

Karen Nikos-Rose, Associate Director of News and Media Relations, Strategic Communications, kmnikos@ucdavis.edu

Emily Prieto-Tseregounis, Chief of Staff and Assistant Vice Chancellor, Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and Campus Diversity, eprieto@ucdavis.edu

Rahim Reed, Associate Executive Vice Chancellor, Campus Community Relations, rreed@ucdavis.edu

Rich Shintaku, Director of Diversity & Inclusion, Campus Diversity, rshintaku@ucdavis.edu

Josh Hori, Assistive Technology Analyst, jhori@ucdavis.edu

(2015–2016) Ralph Washington, Jr., Chair, Graduate Student Association, rwashington@ucdavis.edu

(2015–2016) Mariah Kala Watson, President, ASUCD, mkawatson@ucdavis.edu

(2015-2016) Angel Hinzo, Graduate Student Assistant to the Dean and Chancellor, amhinzo@ucdavis.edu

(2016-2017) Sara Garcia, Graduate Student Representative, sargarcia@ucdavis.edu

(2016-2017) Sam Alavi, Undergraduate Student Representative, sjalavi@ucdavis.edu

Diversity and Inclusion Initiative Staff

Elizabeth Bishay, Director of Development, Student Affairs and Campus Diversity, ehbishayucd@gmail.com

Laura Cerruti, Analyst, Diversity and Inclusion Initiative, lmcerruti@ucdavis.edu

Brittany Derieg, Assistant Director, Student Affairs and Campus Diversity, bjderieg@ucdavis.edu

Avaeta Ahluwalia, Executive Analyst, Student Affairs and Campus Diversity, aahluwalia@ucdavis.edu

Dillon Hanna, Undergraduate Student Assistant, dshanna@ucdavis.edu

Thomas O’Donnell, Graduate Student Researcher, Diversity and Inclusion Initiative, twodonnell@ucdavis.edu

Working Groups

Working groups were created in 2014 to ensure broad representation of constituencies and issues, and to facilitate discussion and action. Each has two co-facilitators, members from the full committee, and other members from the campus community. A primary role for the working groups is to engage their constituencies for meaningful participation in the development of the plan.

2014–2016 Working Groups

Regional Stakeholders: Suad Joseph, Chair

Undergraduate Students: Mariah Kala Watson, Chair

Graduate and Professional Students and Post Docs: Ralph Washington Jr., Chair

Academic Senate: Sally McKee, Chair

Academic Federation: Laura Van Winkle, Chair

Staff: Rich Shintaku, Chair

2015–2016 Advisory Groups

Pipeline: Rahim Reed, Chair

Data: Suad Joseph, Chair

Communications: Karen Nikos-Rose, Chair