UC Davis Outstanding Student Awards - 2018 Recipients

University Medalist

Emily Eijansantos receiving the University Medal from Chancellor May.

Emily Eijansantos

Emily Eijansantos is a UC Regents Scholar and for the last four years a member of the University Honors Program. She has won several awards, including the Provost’s Undergraduate Fellowship, Pedrozzi Scholarship, first place in the HOSA-Future Health Professionals Collegiate Medical Math Competition, UC Davis travel fellowship and is currently finishing her neurobiology, physiology and behavior honors thesis. Her undergraduate research has resulted in contributions to three publications, and she presented her recent work at the Biophysical Society’s 62nd Annual Meeting in San Francisco. She has also been part of the UC Davis CARE program, the CONNECTED clinic and UC Davis Hospice. She is the public relations officer and event manager for Davis Wushu, and was the event chair for Davis Wushu’s Fight The Stigma! charity showcase at the Veterans Memorial Center to raise money and awareness for women’s mental health, and also to enrich the Davis community with a unique, cultural experience.

Each year UC Davis awards the top graduating senior with the University Medal for excellence in undergraduate studies, outstanding community service and the promise of future scholarship and contributions to society.

Mary Jeanne Gilhooly Award

Nisha Marwaha

Nisha Marwaha

From a very young age, Nisha has been dedicated to serving others, and her passion for service is evident in her long list of accomplishments. She currently serves as the president of the Watsi chapter at UC Davis, a branch of the nonprofit organization focused on funding low-cost, high-impact care for isolated peoples.

At Watsi, she lead the development of an afterschool program at a local elementary school. Nisha served as technical lead for Engineers Without Borders where she designed and implemented the first phase of a water distribution project in a rural town in Northern Peru. She was also involved with the Society of Women Engineers, where she led outreach events for elementary school-level girls to promote interest and increase exposure to STEM fields. Here on campus she worked with the Student Farm to reduce issues of food insecurity in collaboration with The Pantry. 

The Mary Jeanne Gilhooly Award honors the graduating woman believed to be the most outstanding in the areas of leadership, scholarship, integrity and service in the campus community. The award was established in 1942 to memorialize the achievements of Mary Jeanne Gilhooly, recognized as an “unofficial goodwill ambassador to every prospective Aggie,” who died while a student at UC Davis.

Veloyce Glenn Winslow, Jr. Award

Connor Grant

Connor Grant

Connor’s list of accomplishments over the past four years here at UC Davis is extensive and thoroughly impressed the awarding committee. He has served as the Interfraternity Council's president, where he was able to lead the implementation of a mandatory education system for campus fraternities. During his time serving on the chancellor’s Undergraduate Advisory Board, he was exposed to the complexity of our institution and worked to establish communication networks, connecting students, faculty and administrators. Connor was also a research associate with the Emergency Medicine Research Associate Program at UCDMC where he went on to co-author multiple publications regarding cocaine and methamphetamine users. On top of all this, Connor is currently serving as co-president for the Phi Sigma biological sciences honor society where he is working on their first annual Phi Sigma Student Research Showcase, which will be held this spring.

The Veloyce Glenn Winslow, Jr. Award honors the graduating man believed to be the most outstanding in the areas of leadership, scholarship, integrity and service in the campus community. This award was established in 1966 to memorialize the achievements of Glenn Winslow, Jr., who died while serving as vice president of the student body at UC Davis.

Social Justice and Inclusion Award

Angela Kim

Angela Kim

Angela Kim strives for social justice with ample care and compassion, advocating for her communities in a way that highlights marginalized voices and empowers those around her. Angela has left her legacy on the UC Davis campus as a community organizer at the Women’s Resources and Research Center, board member and tutor with the Tutors for Incarcerated Individuals program, ASUCD Sexual Assault and Awareness Committee member and many other involvements. She has demonstrated dynamism and critical self-reflection in her social justice work, and prioritizes providing resources to communities and individuals who are not often granted access to these.

The Social Justice and Inclusion Award honors the graduating student of any gender who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to social justice in the areas of leadership, scholarship, and service. This award honors a student who has served as a change agent and made a tangible impact on campus community promoting equity and inclusion.

Margarita Robinson Student Leadership Award

Nikita Mummidivarapu

Nitika Mummidivarapu

As a freshman, Nitika co-founded the Diaper Bank Project—an organization dedicated to providing child care supplies to underprivileged families in the Sacramento area. She currently serves as the director and has increased participation from 2 to 25 students. Nitika has further been involved as a patient advocate with the Imani Clinic that provides medical services to the underserved African American community in Sacramento.

Nitika has been involved on campus with research and serving with ASUCD. In the Juliano Lab, she has conducted research supported by the Provost’s Undergraduate Fellowship and as ASUCD chief of staff, Nitika advocated for undergraduate representation in Academic Senate.

The Margarita Robinson Student Leadership Award for outstanding junior honors students for their outstanding service and leadership through involvement in recognized student groups and activities. Established in 1982, this award serves as a memorial to Margarita Robinson, who was house mother at the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity for 30 years and a founder of the Prytanean Honor Society at UC Davis.

Student Promoting Advocacy and Redefining Community Award

Jennifer La

Jennifer La

Jennifer has shown immeasurable dedication and energy to help individuals who are different from her. Much of Jennifer’s work is centered around health education and bringing awareness to issues that are commonly stigmatized. Jennifer is a pre-pharmacy student and long-term member of Willow Clinic, and has fostered many relationships within and beyond the organization. Jennifer has demonstrated allyship and compassion among her peers in her work around health education. She hopes to continue to be an advocate and resource in her time left at UC Davis to her on- and off-campus communities.

The Student Promoting Advocacy and Redefining Community Award (SPARC) recognizes a rising student activist who has displayed a passion for advocacy and engagement across multiple communities.